The arrogance of worry

15 Comments

I worry. A lot. I’m pretty sure I inherited the gene from my grandmother. I would have preferred inheriting her ability to make Kaldormer or spritz cookies. I’m really good at consuming them, though, so that should count for something.

The other day, I was listening to the Fernando Ortega song, “Let the Words of My Mouth“. A BEAUTIFUL tribute to verses in Psalm 19 and Philippians 4, it settles across my heart like the first morning rain of summer.

Fernando croons the following:

“Whatever is true
Whatever is pure
Whatever is lovely
Whatever is worthy
Think on these things
Think on these things”

The truth is, I DON’T think on those things. I think about unpaid medical bills, termite damage and needing new windows, the economy, social unrest, government, etc. As I was listening to the song, I realized just how arrogant those thoughts are. As if God isn’t big enough to handle everything. As if I am.

This morning, God fed me with these verses:

“Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you at the proper time, casting all your anxiety on Him, because He cares for you.” 1 Peter 5: 6-7 (NASB)

God WANTS me to cast my worry-gene anxieties on Him. Why? Because He cares for me. He knows what happens to me when I worry (I get sick, which leads to health problems, which lead to doctors and tests, which means I can’t work, which means unpaid medical bills…you get the picture). And when I worry, I can’t be a vessel for Him. I’m too filled up with me so there’s no room for Him.

My life becomes an inward focus that leads to an anxiety-filled outward reflection rather than an upward focus leading to a love-soaked Christ reflection. I sing the arrogance of worry’s mantra of, “Me, me, me”.

The question that kept rolling around me thoughts was: How can He do a good work in me and through me if I’m trying to do all the work myself? Or, even worse, If I’m so sick with worry that I can’t even work!

I need to trust Him to handle, well, all of it. Because He can. Because He cares.  Because God is bigger than ANY worry, especially mine.

I embrace tomorrow with my worry mantra behind me. A new song fills my heart:

As the dawning sun yellows the land,
I will place all my worry in Your mighty hand;

Make me Your vessel, Lord, humble and true,
Decrease me and increase You.
I pray thou would turn the song of me
Into a hymn of praise for Thee.

15 thoughts on “The arrogance of worry

  1. “And when I worry, I can’t be a vessel for Him. I’m too filled up with me so there’s no room for Him.”

    Hiya Heather – and sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo glad He and you have embraced the keyboard again!! ((hugs))

    • Glad you stopped in to write, Heather. Life happens so the writing sometimes doesn’t. Good thoughts. I’m learning this lesson as well. Paul had a good post a few weeks back about worry, “Worry doesn’t work because worry doesn’t work”. It tricks us into thinking we’re “doing something” when actually it’s like a lazy faith. Btw, I recently abandoned my old blog and started a new one. I didn’t make a big deal out of it so i did not announce it or anything but would love if you guys (Paul, Heather) would want to continue ‘following’ along. I know we can’t always keep up with every piece but there are certain bloggers I would like to remain connected with because there was “something” more there.

      • Thank you, Paul! I appreciate that. I thank God for this unique little community. The words pebbles you have offered both on your blog and mine have been a true encouragement.

        And heather, just listened to that song. Beautiful! Thanks for sharing that.

      • Thank you so much, Rebekah. I wondered why I had not seen anything in my blog roll from you. I wasn’t sure if, like me, the writing stopped due to life happening.
        I’m so grateful to be “back” and am open for wherever God will take me.
        I will DEFINITELY follow your blog! You have always been one of my favorites!!
        Thanks again for stopping by. 🙂

  2. How wonderfully humble this is, Heather. “As if God isn’t big enough to handle everything. As if I am.” Amen to that. I think sometimes we simply need to invite Him into our rooms to sit with us. And just be with Him. Let His love and compassion wash over us. So good to see you writing and sharing His light with us again.

Leave a Reply

