The rope of hope

24 Comments

I like happy endings. I like the manipulative swell of music as the handsome stock broker kisses the quirky girl with the glasses and bulky sweater. No make-over needed. I like resolutions. And redemption.

But I also respect real. Real is “Braveheart”. Real is the handsome stock broker insult-coughing “loser” as the quirky girl passes him in the coffee shop. Real is a slammed door and things left unsaid. Real is the guy on the street corner who spews forth hateful things about passersby. About the world. About Jesus.

There’s hope for him, though. He could still give me a happy ending, with a crescendo of violins, as he accepts Christ into his heart. There’s always hope. Even amidst the real.

What are you clinging to?

What are you clinging to?

My friend, Lady Di, says that, “Hope is the rope that pulls you through.”

Sometimes I need that rope like when life crumbles beneath me and I fall into a pit. Pit music is Jaws swimming toward the boat. Or Michael Meyers in a hockey mask lurking outside the babysitter’s window.

But Jesus always meets me in the pit. He walks with me, like He did with Shadrach, Meshach, and Abednego in the fire. He reminds me He is the Way. They Way up and out.

The other day, I was reading Second Timothy and came across Paul’s warnings about the last days. His warnings are not about wars or rumors of wars, or weather patterns, or diseases, or famines. His warnings are about the types of people who will be prevalent. Let me just say, it ain’t pretty folks. It’s definitely not 1980-US-hockey-team-beating-Russia-at-the-Olympics melodies. Or Marlin-actually-finding-Nemo orchestral swells. Paul doesn’t sugar coat. Paul tells it like it is. Paul is real.

Real can be hard to swallow sometimes. So I flipped Paul’s words and turned them into words of hope to pull me through.

2_Timothy_3

Adapted from 2 Timothy 3:2-8 (NLT)

I read somewhere that if people actually followed “The Golden Rule” (Luke 6:31), then they would keep the commandments. At the core of The Golden Rule is love. It is love seasoned with respect, consideration, and seeing the person—actually seeing (without judging) a living, breathing, sin-filled person who is not more or less than you are.  Love, respect, consider, and see others. But cling to them? No. Paul is basically telling us not to live in a fantasy world where everyone skips along, Journey-Adele-mash-up-performing their way to a happy ending. As we know, not everyone gets a happy ending. There are even “Christians” who will prophesy in Christ’s name and perform miracles but Christ won’t know them.

Paul wants us to be able to spot those who claim to know Christ, who wear the cloak of innocence with the heart of a wolf beating underneath. He wants us to recognize Pyrite people. They might look like the real thing, but they are merely a cheap imitation.  They live by the Fool’s Golden Rule.

Peter tells us that we have great joy ahead of us despite all the trials we will endure while here. He tells us that “These trials will show that your faith is genuine. It is being tested as fire tests and purifies gold—though your faith is far more precious than mere gold” (1 Peter 1:7). I want my faith to be genuine, to be real. That is what will “bring [me] much praise and glory and honor on the day when Jesus Christ is revealed to the whole world” (1 Peter 1:7b). An eternity with Christ is the ultimate Happy Ending with a chorus of angels singing me Home.

24 thoughts on “The rope of hope

    • Thanks so much, Corinna!! Our Saturdays and truth talks embody this level of honesty and draw us closer to Christ so we can be more like Him. We are growing every day. Let’s keep planting the seeds of His Word in our fertile hearts so our lives will bear the delicious fruit of His will. 🙂

  1. The Best…You got a way of saying it…right on…I’m tying the rope of Hope around my waist, looking to Him…He is the Nour and the verb of HOPE.

  2. Thank you so much, Lady Di, for our Saturdays and for feeding me constantly with your knowledge and wisdom. I love your “rope of hope” insight. I NEVER want to tie my rope to anything but Him. I can’t wait to see what He has in store for us this weekend. 🙂

    • Thank you very much for commenting! He never promised we would have it easy. We walk in faith and daily say to Christ, “I choose You.” I long to be a servant, steadfast and true. Have a blessed day! 🙂

      • Yes, it’s an exciting adventure isn’t it? To wonder what road He will take us down as we waltz about in this crazy state of being called LIFE. I feel no worry or concerns about what my future holds knowing He is in charge of it all and letting go, letting God.

      • Heather, this photo of you makes you look twenty years old. I wondered how you could be so full of knowledge at twenty years old until I read that your husband has faithfully worn that wedding band for so many years. You look fabulous dear. Have an awesome God filled day. Brenda

      • I am so pumped to have found you. Your well-thought-out verbage ignites a huge spark in me for Him. He has given you the ability to heal and comfort.

      • You might enjoy reading my novel, Courage Times Three. It leaves you feeling good about life and people. They all depend on God’s love to survive the atrocities of war and then on through life. It’s on Amazon.com and Barnes and Noble if you are interested.

      • I wish I could put it on the front page of the Minneapolis Tribune Newspaper. lol All is well with the world…..

Leave a Reply

