A simple life

10 Comments

I don’t like to think of myself as high maintenance. I’m not really into bling or the color pink. I rarely wear mascara or lipstick and the only jewelry I don is my wedding ring (I don’t even have pierced ears!). I’ve had the same hairstyle pretty much since college (at least I escaped my lion-mane-mall-bangs look from the late 80s. Think Joan Cusack in “Working Girl”, only Texas style, not New Jersey…) and prefer wearing a cap to having to “do” my hair. I love days when I can stay in my pajamas and relax in my Barcalounger with a book in my hands, my cat on my lap, a cup of French press coffee steaming from an owl mug, and my hubby at my side. Although when we get the rare weekend together, he’s usually in the garage working on stained glass. But he’s still there. And that’s all I need.

Yeah, I had hair like that.

Yeah, I had hair like that.

Don’t get me wrong. I enjoy the occasional detour from my norm where I gussy up and attend a concert or even a fancy shmancy restaurant. But my preference for most things is like the simplicity of two-part harmony or an acoustic guitar. Chaos and noise only confuse and cloud my already cluttered mind. With all the distractions out there, I don’t need anything turning me from what matters, from Who matters.

Because I’m still a newbie at the whole blogging thing and I love to learn and keep things simple, I thought I’d research some tips on “How to Blog”. The search engine offered a whopping 5,160,000,000 hits. That’s billion. Five point one six. Can blogging really be so complex that it requires that many articles? Novice and pro bloggers offer lots of ways to make your blog bigger and better, more appealing. Anything to generate more “traffic” (could “they” please come up with a better word? one that doesn’t offer up images of road rage, congestion, and panic?). After skimming the first few articles and blogs, I was overwhelmed, and quite frankly, bored. Also, many of the sites had so much going on—pictures, graphs, different fonts and font sizes, social media buttons, advertisements—that I couldn’t “see” the actual advice.

But then I read a post from a blogger I follow (who is quite successful) where he siphoned off all the rubbish and repetition and narrowed his blogging advice down to two simple, attainable points. From 5,160,000,000 to two. I can live with two.

Essentially, he encourages aspiring bloggers to focus on content, because content—what I say, how I say it, pretty much ME on the page— is the meat of the blog. It’s not about how many pictures or graphics I have or whether I’m a social media butterfly (which I’m SOOOOO not). The content should be a little piece of my heart in a post, a glimpse into my life and mind. Because that’s what a reader deserves. The truth of me. Not pretense. Not a pharisaical parade of my self-righteous displays.

That got me thinking. Am I giving God the same consideration I give to my readers? Is He getting my heart or a bedazzled version of it?

There are articles out there on pretty much any subject. Some even on directing people how to be better Christians. 772,000,000 to be exact. I could have clicked on a few just to see how many steps I can take into my journey with Christ before I actually “get better”. But I think it’s easy to lose God in all that chaos, all that noise. I can only be me. The best version of me only happens when God is at my side. Guess what? I’m flawed. I make mistakes. I sin. Daily. God loves me anyway. He looks at my story, not at how many Bible studies I attend or how many Pinterest boards I have filled with inspirational quotes. He reads the content of my heart. He knows my truth.

I want to live a low maintenance, simple life filled with the kind of content that gets God to say, “Heather, your heart was never far from me.”

I want to stand in front of the mirror, reflecting my simple hair, cozy jammies, and Christ in me,  and ask Him to, “Put me on trial, Lord, and cross-examine me. Test my motives and my heart” (Psalm 26:2).

Simply stated, I want the “words of my mouth (and blog) and the meditation (and content) of my heart” to please Him (Psalm 19:14).

10 thoughts on “A simple life

  1. Not sure you need advice. Took me to the last full stop.

    Get the impression god isn’t into likes, traffic numbers, that kind of thing. “Your heart was never far from me” is a beautiful phrase.

    • Thanks so much for commenting! I am so grateful to have the opportunity to share my walk with Christ and to learn from others, like you, who write with honesty and transparency. To God go the glory! 🙂

  2. Wonderful post 🙂 I enjoy that kind of simple life. The owl mug reminded me of a friend I haven’t spoken to in a while. She loves owls.
    I’m sure your open Christianity is definitely putting a smile on God’s face.

    • Thank you for commenting and for your kind words! My journey with Christ is taking me down roads I never imagined. He makes me smile every day. 🙂
      Tell your friend, there’s another owl-aholic out there. 🙂

  3. Heather, I love your name! (We gave our daughter that name!) And I love your blog because you are honest, humble, and down-to-earth. You’re seeking truth and passionate about living it out–in your jammies and simple hair-do! Thank you for making me smile and making me think.

    P.S. Thank you also for becoming a follower of my blog. I am honored you find the posts meaningful.

    • Hi Nancy! Thanks so much for your kind words. 🙂
      God has shown me that truth is the key to finding Him in me. I need to wipe away all the pretense and toss the masks in the costume bin and just be me. It’s so hard to stay in the honest zone because so much of what we see today is based on lies and illusions. But Jesus saw me in my jammies and no fuss hairdo and He died for me anyway. I owe Him my honesty.
      Thanks again for commenting. I appreciate your blog and how Christ is speaking through you. 🙂

Leave a Reply

