It’s crystal clear now

2 Comments

Despite all the chaos and drama, the deadlines and headlines, the name-calling and name-dropping in the world, I had a wonderful evening.  I’m not bragging or one-upping. Just stating a fact. My hubby cooked pork tenderloin with horseradish sour cream, pierogi, and sauteed vegetables (sorry ladies, he’s taken!), which I polished off in Olympic record-breaking time. We turned on Sonos to the Baroque station, started the fireplace, and I finished an Elvis Cole novel while the hubby played Number Cruncher. There’s a certain peace that comes from knowing that there, in the waltz of our relationship, he knows when to lead and I know when to follow. We don’t always have to dance. It’s OK to sit one out or to stop to appreciate the music. Our marriage has become a harmony of give and take, of gratitude and latitude, and of looking across the room at each other and offering the simple smile that says, “I love you” without uttering a word.

Here he is, playing Angry Birds. But Squeaks shows him who's boss.

Here he is, playing Angry Birds. But Squeaks shows him who’s boss.

My husband would tell you he’s not an intellectual. He thinks that because I am, as my sister would say, a Nerdy McNerderson, armed with books and the juice I extract from them, that I am an “intellectual”. Just because I read a lot and have degrees doesn’t make me an intellectual. Because I’m here to tell you, the man is brilliant. Sometimes he’s says downright hilarious things and has the weirdest phobias (chairs on a wall, human features on animals, Brazil nuts…) but he’s also quite profound. I wish I could curl up inside his head to see the intricacies of his neurotransmitters. When I make a mental leap, it’s really just a hopscotch kind of leap. My hubby’s mental leaps are of the pole vaulting variety.

As sat in the Baroque-infused quietness of our home, he turned to me and said, “People are like crystal.”

Out of the blue. No prior conversation on crystal. Not even Billy. “How?” I asked.

“When the light of God’s Word passes through us, it is reflected in different colors, depending on each person’s relationship with Him. Some people just radiate His Word and are prisms of color. Some have radiant colors while others barely reflect any color at all. Then there are those people who don’t think they need His Word, so they stay out of the light entirely. It’s a shame, really.” He never donned a pseudo-deep-thoughts tableau of steepled fingers. In fact, he never stopped playing his game. Just offered me his thoughts in the same manner I would mention running into a friend at the store.

I sat there, book in hand, Squeaks on my lap, and grinned. I offered a silent “Thanks” to God for His work in my husband’s life.

Are you standing in the light of God's Word?

Are you standing in the light of God’s Word?

He continued, “Did you know that a crystal’s structure is called its habit?”

“Uhhh…no.” Where does he get this stuff?

“It’s all determined on the crystal’s chemical makeup and its environmental conditions.”

“Hmm…”

He set down his phone/game and faced me. Then he said, “So I’m thinking maybe that’s why some people radiate better light than others. Their structure is built on a relationship with God.”

“They make God their habit.”

He grinned, picked up his phone and continued his game. “This game’s a bad habit, I tell ya.”

My mind hovered on that conversation for hours. Neurotransmitters inch-wormed in an area the size of pencil lead. My hubby’s mind had catapulted back into his game and possibly contemplated the cure for cancer or dogs chasing their tails. I never know.

After announcing His twelve apostles, Jesus delivered His Sermon on the Mount. Part of that sermon entailed life instructions. He told His disciples, “You are the light of the world—like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father” (Matthew 5:14-16).

I yearn to radiantly reflect God’s good and perfect love and Word in illuminating, prismatic brilliance. I don’t want to hide or stand in darkness. I want to shine for all the world to see. I want my habit to have Jesus as its foundation, for only the Cornerstone can make my structure solid and complete.

2 thoughts on “It’s crystal clear now

  1. Well, technically, the darkness is exactly where you want to put a light. I love the crystal analogy! And no, you do NOT want to curl up in that man’s brain. I’ve heard some of the stuff that comes out of his mouth … 😉

Leave a Reply

