Of nephews, pictures, and other addictions

2 Comments

Seven months ago, my sister and brother-in-law adopted a precious baby boy. Their adoption journey is a post (or 30) for another time, but I will say it was an extremely long and often heartbreaking experience. But my nephew was worth it. Is worth it.

I have never fancied myself a “baby” person. Maybe it’s because I’m the baby of the family. Maybe it’s because none of my friends ever had babies. Or maybe it’s because the few babies I ever held either cried, at ear-drum-puncturing decibels, when I held them OR projectile vomited all over me. And since I’m a sympathetic vomiter…well, you get the picture.

My hubby and I decided long ago that we aren’t the parenting type. Maybe it’s because I am selfish. Maybe it’s because I was a teacher for ten years and saw what the teenage years could do to one’s sanity. Lord knows they wreaked havoc on mine and I got to send the kiddos home at the end of the day. My brother, who is older than my by eight years, has never married. Thus, no kids. My sister and brother-in-law tried to have kids of their own (for years) but my sis had some health issues, meaning pregnancy was not a possibility. They began their adoption journey full of hope. Nearly eight years into it, they had almost given up. My parents resigned themselves to having grandpets, not grandkids. Which is tragic if you know my parents. They’re pretty much the best people you’ll ever meet.

Grandcat, Squeaks.

Grandcat, Squeaks.

Where was I? Oh yeah, seven months ago. I refer to that time as P.B. That’s Pre-Baby B. Yes, I do call him Baby B. I also call him Baby Bears. Well P.B., my camera roll on my phone contained roughly 400 pics. The majority of those were of Squeaks, food, coffee, and my hubby planking. But that’s another post for another time. My camera roll POST Baby B has close to 2000 pics. I don’t know what happened to me. I went from being baby repellent to a blubbering fool who cries when he curls his little fingers around mine. The boy is too cute for words. Maybe that’s why I take so many pictures of him.

See the cuteness? No words!

My family refers to me as Aunt-a-razzi because I’m constantly taking pictures. Baby B loves my camera. He loves me, too, but he really loves my camera. See?

He's trying to eat my phone. And still being too cute for words.

He’s trying to eat my phone. And still being too cute for words.

My sister, who loves being a mommy, adores all the pictures I take but thought it might be great if I could take better-quality photos. Let’s just say I squealed and did the happy dance when I saw my Christmas present—a DSLR camera, two lenses, and a case. Unfortunately, I am a newbie when it comes to photography. Sure I understand the basics, like point and click. Zoom in. Zoom out. Beyond that? Not so much. So I signed up for a beginner photography class. It’s four-weeks of ISOs, apertures, shutter speeds, f-stops, and white balance. I had my first lesson last night. Can’t you tell by all those fancy, new-fangled words I used? All I can say is, SHEESH. It’s not simple. At all. But I love it. I will keep you posted with my progress and pictures along the way. I have a homework assignment due next week that requires sunlight. The forecast is predicting sun, but this is Oklahoma. Who knows what will happen?

Just one more picture of my nephew. It’s OK. You can smile.

This is his new convertible. Hard to believe he's still single.

This is his new convertible. Hard to believe he’s still single.

2 thoughts on “Of nephews, pictures, and other addictions

Leave a Reply

